Bridal

When I first came across Naw.warah Bri.dal earlier this year, it was almost love at first sight. They’re so modest yet (and for lack of a better word) so glamarous. Back then, I haven’t donned the hijab but I was already in the process of wearing it (lol wat) so I knew I was going to be a bride who wears a.. hijab. What is this awkward sentence structuring… And Naw.warah’s brides are mostly hijabis so yay! I am also madly in love with the veil over the hijab look and I’m gonna make sure I have these veil for all of my three outfits I don’t care!!

(Photo credit: @naw.warah.bri.dal)

I’m not gonna lie, when I received the package list, I was a little surprised because they’re not cheap at all. They’re in the range of those three most coveted bridal services and I was honestly expecting something lesser considering they’re new in the industry, I think. But when I scrutinized the 3 outfits package and did my cost comparison breakdown in my spreadsheet, they’re the most affordable of all. BECAUSE:

1) No additional charges for reapplication of makeup due to prayers. My mak andam will remove every single bit of makeup on my face, let me do my prayers, and then reapply my makeup. Though I honestly don’t think brides remove everything because reapplying will take an additional hour right? I don’t know but that’s $250 saved.

2)  No fixed amount of Duit Kipas. I was told that the mak andam doesn’t usually take this duit kipas from the bride but I don’t know if I can do that, to not give when it’s due. Actually I have no idea what is the purpose of duit kipas. Is it a tradition? Is it tips? Aren’t we already paying thousands of dollars for the bridal package? My take is that it’s just like a compensation for the transportation cost, carrying the huge makeup bag to and from, following the bride back and forth. But if she really doesn’t take, that’s at least $100 saved.

3) The package is inclusive of 1 Trial Makeup. It is part of Wed.ding Bro.cade’s T&C that clients with sensitive skin should request for a trial makeup at $150. With.Love.Yu.Mi also charges $200 for this service. Naw.warah will do the trial makeup on the last fitting so by then you’d already know how you’ll look like on your wedding day. Dah macam tak surprise but at least tak terperanjat beruk kalau tak lawa kan?! Just kidding, Naw.warah’s brides tak pernah tak lawa lol. With this, that’s at least another $100 saved.

That’s already $450 leh!!

A week after the engagement, Ghibli and I took leave (ooh, it’s the start of taking leaves for wedding appointments) on Monday for our appointment. The only setback that I have is that the office is located at freaking TOH GUAN. JURONG. WE LIVE IN TAMPINES. I wanted to cry when I saw the location in the email but dah suka punya pasal. His mom was also questioning why we decided on a bridal that’s so far away. She was like, “Asal jauh sangat?! Ambik lah yang dekat sikit macam Fa.timah Moh.sin!!” AMBOI. Tapi kalau cik nak bayarkan maybe saya consider….

Anyway, when we arrived in the office, my eyes darted straight to the outfits and I just wanted to touch them all omg… But I had to play my cool and discuss whatever necessary. Ghibli was very quiet it was like he didn’t know what was the point of the meeting but whatever really lol. Found out that I was the only slot for that weekend which means I’ll have Na.tasha as my mak andam. See, so good first come first serve basis. No need to fork out additional hundreds for this. 45 minutes of discussion and she finally asked if I wanted to see the outfits!!

(Photo credit: @naw.warah.bri.dal)

Omg :’) I was so in love with everything I really don’t know how to pick my outfits on my first fitting next year. I was told that I could try as many outfits as I wished! On my fitting day lah, not on the first appointment. Which is good because these dresses may look nice displayed but they’ll look otherwise on my body. And that’s always the case, no? Lol.

It’s a bummer knowing that brides who secured their slots in 2015 have the luxury of getting 3 customised outfits AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE. They are entitled to first-time wear outfits!! Whereas I can only select my outfits off the shelves. But I am not complaining. I don’t mind wearing outfits worn by many other brides. By the time it’s my wedding in October next year, I’d be spoilt for choices too. I trust these BTBs to customise such luxurious pieces haha.

Sigh, I really cannot wait for Ghibli to drive up all the way to bloody Toh Guan again for our first fitting…

7 thoughts on “Bridal

Leave a Reply

